Oakwood Cemetery
Civil War Antietam Circles Number 1 & Number 2

112 South 17th
Parsons, KS 67357
(620) 421-7000

Open 7AM to dusk

Oakwood Cemetery Map

Oakwood Cemetery - Parsons, Kansas
Oakwood Cemetery
Oakwood Cemetery - Parsons, Kansas

The Antietam Circles at Oakwood Cemetery in Parsons, Kansas are a must visit for Civil War and cemetery buffs. There are two adjacent Antietam Circles and both contain Civil War graves and monuments. Circle #2 also has an American flag, cast iron gate, and four copper statues. Circle #1 has two 8 inch Columbiad cannons and a 28 foot tall concrete rotunda which was constructed in 1905. 

The original portion of Oakwood Cemertey open on 20 acres in 1872. In 1886, a portion of Oakwood Cemetery was purchased by Civil War veterans who came to Parsons as settlers after the war. In 1887 they named their portion of the cemetery the Antietam Circle in honor of one of the bloodiest battles of the Civil War. In 1889 addition cemetery lots were purchased and Antietam Circle number two was created. 

The 1911 cast iron gateway to Oakwood Cemetery was donated by the Daughters of the American Revolution (D.A.R.)

bronze Civil War statues - Parsons, Kansas
1911 bronze statues in Antietam Circle Number Two made by the W. H. Mullens Company of Salem, Ohio

The 1913 cast iron archway at circle number two was donated by the Ladies of the Grand Army of the Republic

Civil War unknown soldier memorial
This 1921 memorial to the Unknown Soldier was donated by The Sons of the Veterans

Civil War rotunda - Parsons, Kansas
1905 concrete rotunda in Antietam Circle Number One

Oakwood Cemetery Map - Parsons, Kansas
Oakwood Cemetery Map

Kansas Attractions  Kansas Travel & Tourism Home

copyright 2010-2011 by Keith Stokes