St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Church - Munjor, Kansas
St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Church in Munjor, Kansas has a storied past, starting with a free standing cross, which was erected by German speaking immigrants from the Volga area in southern Russia. That cross served as a place for worshipers to gather, until the first frame church was constructed in 1870. The congregation soon outgrew the first structure and built a native stone church which was dedicated in 1890. That church was enlarged in 1913.
On February 5, 1932, St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Church was destroyed by fire, but over time, the building was rebuilt with almost the same external appearance. The steeple which once stood atop the stone tower at the front of the church was never replaced and the interior columns which once supported the ceiling were replaced by a vaulted ceiling.
St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Church is only open during the mass, but you may be able to schedule an interior visit by calling (785) 625-5314. The building appears very well maintained and the congregation is justifyably proud of their church.
copyright 2009-2017 by Keith Stokes